Skip to content

Perspectives

September 30, 2009

Readers of my previous post complained that I am being unduly critical of India’s National Newspaper (INP). They pointed out to me, rightly so, that bashing INP is just a fad and suggested to keep my haughty behaviour in check. “Who do you think you are? A former UN diplomat? ” they questioned, “Besides, you read TOI, after all. For this alone you’ll have no redemption. ” Agreed. Totally. One hundred percent. How I wish I have not picked up the habit of reading a paper so I need not have to face this ignominy.

But TOI don’t editorialize. Pitiable souls they don’t even do them in their editorials. All of their time is spent in coming up with brilliant bylines, anyways. Not just brilliant but ones that makes you weep. Yet, I put up with it. Oh why, in fact, I was a reader of INP for quite sometime before The Lankan Ratna went berserk painting the town, well, red. The volte-face on 123’s is so brilliant that if emulated would have helped Indian gymnasts strike glory in Olympics. But there is a conflict-of-interest if you looked at who won most medals last time.

Yet, to say that I am prejudiced against INP is an understatement. Jaundiced probably would do. I am never larger than my community or my country, nor would I give it up so easily and I prefer to be prejudiced rather than propagandized.

A reader, who formerly read the paper for more than half a decade, can have an opinion, No? And if you think contrariwise, alas, my friend, you are taken!

And if you have some time, here are three different links about a same event. Link1, Link2, Link3. Perspectives!

And, here, I can go on and on. I won’t lest it becomes my wont.

P.S : For those who are quick to raise an eyebrow on the claim ‘readers’ plural at the beginning, I am still the proprietor around here whatsoever the impropriety I chose to display. πŸ™‚

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mayil permalink
    October 20, 2009 6:17 am

    Problem with people is they treat INP as the journalistic benchmark(I am searching for the idiot who prophesied the fact) and it is extremely hard for them to see from a different perspective. It will take some time for them to realize it, hope they realize before it’s too late.

    Your link to the times is not working, don’t know why because the preview comes fine but clicking leads to the home page

  2. Chika permalink
    February 8, 2010 3:37 pm

    Reread the INP article. It sounds sarcastic on China. Clearing evn the skies for security concerns, erasing a bitter past from text books…a country which still tightly restricts religious freedoms…
    what more do u want..INP to declare war? Sensationalism has never been its forte…so what?

  3. M S permalink*
    February 9, 2010 7:02 am

    Chika,

    Sarcasm? But the quote at the end of the story concludes all the above things a ‘progress’ !

    It is just that my idea of progess is quite different.

    We see what we want to see. No? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

