Skip to content

Dispatch from Danforth

March 14, 2011

Neither I turned a Statesman and nor Danforth a prison. In fact, I am still pretty much the same old clueless guy and Danforth is the apartment where I am currently put up. An alliteration in the title was just too tempting, nothing more. 

Yeah, it’s official and after quite a long time (probably like an ice age) it had happened and I happened to set my foot in the US of A. My Father refused to believe that I had gone to America till I placed him an overseas call and all. He knows far too much that most of the times an IT guy’s travel plan remains a plan forever.  Damn him and his knowledge. Here I am! 

The Hostess at check in for BA in Chennai Airport asked me that I am travelling very light. It’s a business trip, I remarked. And she smiled. She was nice looking and all; with her one smile she changed the business trip instantly into a pleasure one. Now, don’t you read too much into that? Also I know they do it to all the people all the time. So cut me some slack will you? 

Lest I forget, I shall mention in the passing that we (I and a colleague) had a brief stopover was in Britain and all. You are allowed to pass here for a second and cry out aloud “Big deal! “.  Also I have heard that it’s an English propensity to remark about the Weather in general. Keeping that tradition, Weather in Heathrow was around zero degrees with clear sky, no snowfall, wind blowing at 3 mph and a visibility greater than 5 miles etc. If you spotted that I sneaked in British units then you are allowed to give yourself a pat on the back. 

We then landed in Boston our final destination and attended immigration proceedings, in a calm and composed manner befitting professionals. I actually wanted to jump up and down but PDE (public display of Emotions) is not allowed in Border Control, briefed our travel security back at the office. Stamped (in a positive connotation that is) by the immigration official we proceeded to catch our cab waiting for us in the third island.

The first thought that comes to my mind talking to people here is that will they ever get tired of asking people how are they doing? So much for articulation, I have not able to respond to that seemingly simple question clearly so far. To me it appears to be the most complex question that can ever be asked. If I had ever to tell truth for an answer then I would need all day and night to answer that. And the person who had asked that would regret for the rest of his life. Now I had learnt how to make a short reply that is expected.

Holding doors, right of way for pedestrians, no horns etc sounds pretty much insanely civil to me. But all of it happens here. And we are cooking our own food, doing the dishes, washing clothes (only ours), and disposing the garbage (again only ours.) Yet isn’t as awful as it sounds. It’s liberating experience if I can enthuse. It’s a short trip, or rather shortest by the normal standards. Yet, I hope to broaden my mind and learn a thing or two and all in this trip. A beauty in travelling is that one learns more about self than about the place. Hope it works!

TBC. Probably! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 15, 2011 12:58 pm

    Congrats da…
    So finally in a onsite trip 🙂

  2. Anonymous permalink
    March 15, 2011 12:59 pm

    Hey.. i am the above Anonymous—Maruthu

Leave a Reply

